PDA

View Full Version : My carrier key has good staking but wiggles ?

northern1
07-04-11, 09:58
Compared to most here I'm a newb. I've got about 300 rounds on this Spikes upper. I can't figure out how to post pics as I'm using my phone here so you'll have to take my word on things that it is properly staked.

Last night I noticed some play though in the carier key. I don't know how to measure the amount of play to give you an exact idea of the amount, all I can say is it is tiny. So my newb question is this normal at all ? It seems like the screws weren't tightened all the way before it was staked. I don't see the screws being able to back out either so just shoot it or send it back to Spikes.

Stickman
07-04-11, 10:00
There should be NO PLAY in the key at all.

Staking is designed to keep it locked in place, the idea is to have it locked correctly in place, and it doesn't sound like yours is.

jonconsiglio
07-04-11, 10:14
You need to fix or replace it. You can either get new screws then torque and stake it correctly or call the manufacturer.

northern1
07-04-11, 10:17
I figured as much but thought it wouldn't hurt to ask. I was gooing to shoot it today but I guess not. I'll be calling Spikes first thing Tuesday. Thannks. Happy 4th

4thPointOfContact
07-04-11, 10:38
I'm sure that if they could manufacture a one-piece bolt carrier with the carrier key as an integral part they would do so. Unfortunately it's not economically feasible.
The screws and staking are the next best alternative to being a single piece.

bleaman225
07-04-11, 11:07
I don't think it's physically possible to make it one piece.

The current design is perfectly fine as long as the installation is done properly.

Iraqgunz
07-04-11, 13:41