PDA

View Full Version : M&P sight installation

Meplat
07-17-11, 15:23
So I took my new M&P out for the first time shooting yesterday, and within the first 100 rounds the dot in the front sight fell out and has become lost.
Not blaming S&W, as I know OEM sights are very crappy and simple to begin with most of the time, and it gives me a good excuse to get some new and better sights. I'm not looking for any suggestions on sights to replace them with, as I have that decision more or less narrowed down, but...

I am asking if anyone knows of any smiths or shops who will install sights for me and have a large selection of sights available, or will let me send in my own sights with the slide for installation and have a fairly quick turn around time. Emphasis on the turn around time.
I'm also wondering if I should bypass sending it into a smith and buying the S&W front sight tool and doing it myself. The only thing that worries me about that is that I have no experience with doing this before, no measuring or gunsmithing tools, and I'd hate to dick it up.
Thoughts and suggestions?
Also, I damn well love the M&P, sight problems aside.

jck397
07-17-11, 17:02
Spend the $120 on the MGW sight pusher and you'll never look back.. I picked one up after a nightmare experience having a smith install sights on my M&P .40. I figure with 3 M&P's and plans for at least 1 more, at $25-$50 a pop at most local shops, I figured it would pay for itself. Plus I like being able to detail strip my carry guns, and with the M&P's, that means removing the rear sight. The MGW tool is easy to use, solid, and simple. I couldn't be happier with it.

Meplat
07-17-11, 17:45
Thanks for the post, jck. While I appreciate the ability of being able to do something yourself, I just really don't feel too comfortable with installing the sights myself, in particular the front sight as I've read that it can be quite a task.