PDA

View Full Version : Looking for an inexpensive (not cheap) AK

mrbfromd
07-23-11, 19:07
Hey everyone been lurking around this forum for a long time and have learned many things about many rifles. I have looked over the pinned AK thread and learned even more. Now I am looking for peoples opinions. I am look at getting a inexpensive AK but at the same time I don't want it to be something that is cheap. I have had the chance to use a couple of Arsenal AK's but there are out of my price range. Is there anything comparable to them that doesn't carry that price premium? Also are there things that I should look for and be weary of when looking for one. While I have shot them I have no real experience or knowledge of them. I am looking for any advice or information because I know when it comes to AK's it can be hit and miss when not dealing with the bigger names. Hope you guys can help.

TOrrock
07-23-11, 20:19
What is your absolute top price point?

mrbfromd
07-23-11, 20:25
Well I know it is not much but I would like to not spend more than $600. But on the other hand if that is not enough to get something of some quality I may be willing to put off the purchase till I can afford something better. But since this will be my first AK I also don't want to (and really can't) spend a lot. If you can't tell I need some advice, ha.

TOrrock
07-23-11, 20:28
For $600.00, I'd look for a Chinese MAK-90 that was new or damn near new, and you can then unban it at your leisure as you have funds.

They are excellent AK's, and easily unbanned.

mrbfromd
07-23-11, 20:37
Advice from you means a lot so thank you.

Is there any online source for the MAK-90's? I can't seem to find any.

And I know this will make me sound like a newb (which I am when it comes to these) but how does one go about unbanning a weapon, and if it is banned how do you get it in the first place? If you have covered this before a link to it would be appreciated.