PDA

View Full Version : I bought a Bushmaster now what

foxtrapper
10-28-07, 14:56
I am new to the AR scene and have a few questions? I bought a NY complaint Bushmaster M4 A3. I thought that it was the only post-ban M4 carbine that you could own living in NY. Now doing some research and reading the below thread about Bushys it was not the wisest buying choice:( Beside selling the carbine, what should I do to upgrade to make it more reliable? I know I'm going about this ass backwards but this is where I'm at and would appreciate any help. The carbine will be used for casual shooting . Thanks in advance:)

M4arc
10-28-07, 15:06
Honestly bro, just shoot the piss out of it and enjoy. Don't worry about what you don't have. Clean it, keep it wet, take it out and shoot it. If it proves to be reliable just keep going and have fun. Spend your money on ammo, a good sling and a range membership.

That said there are a few small changes you could make to ensure better reliability;

1. Either a BCM or FN bolt from C4iGrant or Bravo Company USA. Both of those should come with a heavy duty extractor spring or a Crane o-ring for more positive extraction.
2. Send your bolt carrier to someone like C4iGrant or GotM4 and have them properly stake the gas key. Your's probably isn't staked the right way.
3. Purchase an H buffer.

Other than those items I wouldn't mess with it unless you have to. :)

Jeff_M
10-28-07, 15:21
I second M4arc's comments. Don't worry about it. Just shoot it and enjoy it!

Failure2Stop
10-28-07, 15:37
This one was made for you:
"Oh No! I bought a BM/RRA/Stag before I knew better!"
(https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7376)

Gun Runner
10-28-07, 17:17
The anti-Bushmaster Kool-Aid is pretty thick here it seems.

I doubt you'll have a problem, they're fine rifles. I've had 3-4k rounds through mine with no malfunctions that weren't caused by faulty magazines.