PDA

View Full Version : Digital SLR Recommendations (Nikon)

Gutshot John
07-29-11, 09:58
I've been an amateur photog for a while (did some semi-pro stuff back in the 90s) but have lost track of the latest trends and current thought. Digital SLR technology has kind of passed me by. I'm committed to Nikon due to the lenses some of which I've owned when I got a 35mm slr years ago

I've got a D70 that I inherited from my dad and it's getting a bit long in the tooth and am looking to upgrade the body.

I'd like something comparatively simple, doesn't have to have every whizbang feature in existence. Viewfinder and LCD as well as HD video capable. 12MP+.

Emphasis on durability and value.

Suggestions?

FromMyColdDeadHand
07-29-11, 10:29
Sorry I don't speak Nikon. I used to be up on everything, and now I have two kids and they still haven't come out with a replacement for my Canon 5DmkII. When I do want to know what is going on I go to:

http://www.dpreview.com

For gear review. Seems to be the most even handed out there with the laregest number of scientific tests.

For a more artistic and high end view:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/index.shtml

An of course bhvideo.com to buy gear.

Palmguy
07-29-11, 10:49
Short answer: D90, D300/D300s or D7000, depending on your budget.

You will retain functionality with whatever glass you currently have (depending on what it is, the D90 may have a little more difficult time). D90s are available for $550-700 or so. The D300 is available for $700-800 or so. The D300s and D7000 are around the $1k price point.

I don't think the D300 has video, but the other three do. The D7000 will probably be the best implementation but it's still not the best available option (something like the Panasonic GH series would be better).

D300/D300s are a pro level build. The D7000 does have a magnesium chassis and improved sealing over the D90. All should be durable.