PDA

View Full Version : some mods to my bushy m4a3

bm_gunner78
08-09-11, 09:52
I am new to the m4 fam, and im in a lil need of some help i bought a bushmaster m4a3 and i would like some feedback on what others think. I am wanting to put a 1:7 twist barrel, h2 buffer, and new trigger assembly that is smoother than the stock one. But like i said i am new to doing these kind of mods to a weapon. If anyone could help i would appreciate it very much.

SpaceWrangler
08-09-11, 09:58
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=7376

You're talking about spending some pretty serious coin to get your carbean up to snuff.

Why not just trade it in on a Colt 6920 and have a quality weapon from the outset?

Located in Athens, GA... http://clydearmory.com/colt-le6920.html

bm_gunner78
08-09-11, 10:03
what kinda coin are we talking about here? If you know.

TomMcC
08-09-11, 11:03
If you're going to go through the trouble of changing out a major component like the barrel, you might want to just sell it, and buy something else.

If you think it's over-gassed then a heavier buffer might be in order, maybe an H1 to start. My BM was so over-gassed that I put a 9mm buffer in it and it still works with Wolf .223.

If the gun works ok, you might want to consider an optic.

I

bm_gunner78
08-09-11, 11:06
what do you mean by over gassed?
im sorry like i said im new to this

SpaceWrangler
08-09-11, 11:13
what kinda coin are we talking about here? If you know.

Barrel, $229 before shipping: http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/BCM-16-M4-Barrel-Stripped-p/bcm-brl-s-m4%2016%20std.htm

A couple hundred for a good trigger: http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/AR15-Lower-Parts-s/5.htm

An H2 Buffer is $25 or so.

So... you have roughly a grand in your factory-condition BM M4A3, with a good $500 worth of parts you want to upgrade it with, to make it on par with a upper-end weapon.

Or you could spend $1100 and get an upper-end weapon.

fdxpilot
08-09-11, 11:13
what do you mean by over gassed?