PDA

View Full Version : Lethality of 5.56mm round after penetrating body armor?

Skyfire1201
08-12-11, 00:04
I'm new to terminal ballistics, and have been reading the various posts on this forum. One question the various hard/soft body armor test/review articles doesn't seem to answer, is what is the terminal ballistics of M855 or M193 round after it has penetrated body armor. I think it's reasonable to assme the body armor will absorb some of the bullet's energy during penetration, does that mean a M855 round, after penetrating a Level IV plate and enters tissue, it'll more or less behave like .22LR in terms of penetration and fragmentation? (which is to say, none at all)

WS6
08-12-11, 10:24
I'm new to terminal ballistics, and have been reading the various posts on this forum. One question the various hard/soft body armor test/review articles doesn't seem to answer, is what is the terminal ballistics of M855 or M193 round after it has penetrated body armor. I think it's reasonable to assme the body armor will absorb some of the bullet's energy during penetration, does that mean a M855 round, after penetrating a Level IV plate and enters tissue, it'll more or less behave like .22LR in terms of penetration and fragmentation? (which is to say, none at all)

An M855 round won't make it through IV Plate to begin with from what I understand.

Ironman8
08-12-11, 10:43
If you're talking about a brand new, quality level 4 plate, then that M855 round isn't penetrating regardless.

If you're talking about a plate that is cracked/already shot, and the round happens to find that crack, then the wound will depend on how much of the plate the round came in contact with before entering your body. I know I would much rather have a cracked/shot plate than no plate at all...

DocGKR
08-12-11, 15:35