PDA

View Full Version : Low-pro gas blocks vs block w/intergral flip-up sights

sir_n0thing
08-14-11, 11:11
Hey all... so I'm about 30% into my first AR-15 build (I am new to the AR, but not new to firearms) and one item that is causing me much indecision is which way to go with the gas block.
On one hand I thought about going with a low profile block and put a flip up front sight on the rail.
On the other hand I have looked at items such as the YHM block that incorporates a flip-up sight (http://www.midwayusa.com/viewProduct/default.aspx?productNumber=257276).
I've search here and all over google looking for opinions, but haven't managed to turn up a whole lot. Are there any real advantages or disadvantages between the two options? Obviously the choice made here could effect the rail length, but are there other considerations I am unaware of?
Some general info about this build... I picked up a stripped Spikes lower and a stripped YHM upper. I installed a Palmetto LPK with the MOE grip. I have a BCM buffer tube assembly coming. All other parts are still in the planning stages.
I am tentatively planning for a 18" barrel with rifle-length gas system. Hand guard/rail system to be determined. I will be running optics of some sort (undecided at this point) but want flip-up irons for back up.

Thanks in advance for any info!

Eric D.
08-14-11, 12:16
If going low-pro I would prefer the gas block be covered by the rail, especially if its not pinned. I would also stay away from the gas block/flip up combos because if the sight breaks, its that much more of a bitch to replace.

Quiet-Matt
08-14-11, 12:42