PDA

View Full Version : STI/Caspian double stack 9mm

deadly0311
08-14-11, 22:34
Any problems that I should hear about before jumping into an STI or Caspian double stack 9mm 2011/1911 esque pistol? Any one you guys recommend for a decent turnaround to build a quality pistol.

Some things I am looking for in said pistol:
-reliablity first and foremost
-accuracy, not bulls eye accuracy but combat accuracy
-full size pistol
-light rail
-hard use, combat features (single sided safety, front cocking serrations, flared magwell)

thanks in advance as I am fairly new to the 1911 world.

fixit69
08-15-11, 00:29
Never dealt with caspian, although I hear good things.

Have had two sti pistols. 2011 and a single stack. Great pieces.

What you choose go do with the pistol? That will be the determining factor. I know with the sti, you won't be dissatisfied. Every thing you put on your list mine excels at. Maybe someone will chime in on caspian that has also had experience with sti that can tell you more than I can.

deadly0311
08-15-11, 00:37
The pistol will be run hard and put up wet per say....It will be used for a Home defense and class gun. Hopefully by the time it gets to my grubby hands, by years end I want to have at least 5-6K down the pipe.

Titleist
08-15-11, 00:39
Not so subtle clue on who built mine:

http://farm7.static.flickr.com/6183/6044409558_f58eb74e91_b.jpg

fixit69
08-15-11, 00:47
Another exquisite specimen. You should put this also on your short list along with wilson cqb.

ETA: how many rounds do you have with it and how has it performed?

deadly0311
08-15-11, 01:32
That Nighthawk with the FLX upgrade looks amazing.....I just dont think that I have the patience to wait on NH to build it.

Titleist
08-15-11, 09:34
Another exquisite specimen. You should put this also on your short list along with wilson cqb.

ETA: how many rounds do you have with it and how has it performed?