PDA

View Full Version : first purchase = RRA LAR-15

Tig
08-20-11, 17:44
Hi,
I'm a complete newb when it comes to any kind of firearm. I have always had an interest but the never the ability to purchase one. I am in the process of looking for one now and saw a RRA LAR-15 at a local shop. The price listed was the least expensive out of any AR that I have seen.

As a first time shooter, would this be a good rifle?
I open to any suggestions, critisism or whatever you have to throw at me.
Thanks

What it costs, hah. $725

DiscipulusArmorum
08-20-11, 18:18
Do you think you could put together another $200-$300 or so dollars? If so, that would get you a nice Colt, for instance. There are other good options at a similar price point.

I have no experience with Rock River, but for my first AR, I would do my best to save up a little money to get something unquestionably solid.

YMMV.

mikeahe
08-20-11, 18:36
RRA no way.

DirectDrive
08-20-11, 18:44
1. RRA doesn't have many friends here, but I will say that their CS has been outstanding for the few parts that I have purchased from them.

2. Never buy something and post here hoping for a blessing.
Better to ask pre-purchase.

3. You have it, go shoot the sh!t out it.

Tig
08-20-11, 18:59
DiscipulusArmorum,
I think I can swing a few hundred more. What attracted me the most was the price, hah. What I want is an Armalite AR15. Just cant find one locally for under 1300. I missed a deal on a new LMT for 1k.

mikeahe,
Thanks man, all opinions count.

DirectDrive,
I have heard great things about there CS.
I have not made the purchase yet. Since it is at a local shop I am considering it.

What other rifles would you guys consider?
Thanks guys, I appreciate the help and info.

Wiggity
08-20-11, 19:00
Hi,