PDA

View Full Version : M&P 45 sights

Phillygunguy
09-01-11, 16:14
So I got a new SW M&P 45 I love this gun but the damn sights keep moving when I shoot,Anyone else have this problem? Are there different sights on the compact M&P pistols? because when I took it back to the dealer he said that it might be the case

Wiggity
09-01-11, 16:15
Well first off, how do you know the sights are moving?

Phillygunguy
09-01-11, 16:19
because when i look the rear sight is far over to the left which was not where it was before I started shooting

LorenzoS
09-01-11, 16:32
Call Smith & Wesson, they will fix it under warranty and even send you a shipping label so it won't cost you anything.

Phillygunguy
09-01-11, 16:36
Yeah that's what I was afraid of I hate buying a new gun only having to send it back. Actually the dealer said they will call the Smith & Wesson rep tomorrow so Ill probably leave it with them

BaronFitz
09-01-11, 17:12
It happened to my wife's M&P 9. The little allen or torx screw that holds the rear sight in place wasn't loctited from the factory. Fortunately I noticed it before she took the gun to a class we took together.

I ended up putting new sights on it and the armorer properly secured the rear sight.

NeoNeanderthal
09-01-11, 17:29
If I had a new gun, I couldn't wait the time needed to send it in to have that fixed. Just take out the set screw, lock tight it real good, tap the sight so it looks centered. Then tighten it (dont torque it down). and shoot it to make sure it truly is centered. Then just torque it down. 10 minutes of work tops. It will take you longer to walk to the end of the driveway and drop it in the mail.

make sure when you tap the rear sight to use wood or plastic, not metal so it doesnt mar.

LorenzoS
09-02-11, 10:58