PDA

View Full Version : Can someone explain TI Rear Battle Sight?

mcpdcrash
11-08-07, 19:36
I feel like an idiot asking this question but given that I'm brand new to AR-15 style rifles I guess there is only one way to de-idiot myself, and that's by asking questions.

I bought the S&W M&P15T, which comes with TI Folding Front and Rear Battle Sights. The rear sight has dual apertures, one being smaller than the other. What is the purpose of the dual apertures? Also, is it just my sight or is the adjustment wheel really difficult to move on all TI sights?

Thanks in advance for your answers.

Shihan
11-08-07, 20:00
The aperatures are for different distance.

mcpdcrash
11-08-07, 21:10
That is what I suspected. So, is the large aperture for closer work and the smaller one for distance?

RD62
11-08-07, 21:35
That is correct. Typically the larger is for 0-200m.

-RD62

mcpdcrash
11-09-07, 01:35
Thanks, RD62.

toddackerman
11-09-07, 17:46
Look here: http://groups.msn.com/TheMarylandAR15ShootersSite/improvedbattlesightzero.

If you sight in dead on at 50 yds., you will be pretty close to dead on at 200 yds. which is the longest I personally would use a carbine without magnified optics. It's really hard to see any small Minutes of Angle at 200 yds. Hitting a
10" plate on a regular basis is pretty good with an iron battle sight.

III
11-09-07, 18:32
There was an army test with our 300m sight that found no increased accuracy with the small aperture at these distances but a user preference can give a person more confidence and increased performance even if it is just mental.

UPSguy
11-10-07, 02:48
The aperatures are for different distance.correct me if I am wrong, but the Troy is a same plain sight. The two apertures are not set up for different distances, just 2 different sight pictures.

TWR
11-10-07, 04:48
You are correct, I've found the larger apeture better for low light situations but they are on the same plane with the Troy.

MX5
11-12-07, 06:50