PDA

View Full Version : Which Hunting Scope???

JR TACTICAL
09-07-11, 01:20
Hey Guys,

I am just getting into hunting and this will be my second season doing it. Last season I shot my deer and hogs with my fathers rifle (remington 700/220 Swift with NF scope) needless to say I was spoiled my first time with that setup. My wallet is not as deep as my fathers so I went out and bought a Savage Edge rifle in .308, threw on a harris BR6-9 bipod and some crap glass just to go shoot the thing.

As time is rapidly approaching for my next hunt(s) I want some new and better glass to do the job, not NF quality but some good glass for around the $200-$250, I was going to go American Defense for the mount as I installed a EGW scope base on the rifle, im open to suggestions on that as well.

I was doing some reasearch and found a few scopes that fit my needs and is in the price range I want:

1. Bushnell Banner 4-16X40 with Illuminated Reticle
http://www.bushnell.com/products/scopes/riflescopes/banner/714164I/

2. Vortex Crossfire 4-12X40 with Illuminated V-Brite Reticle
http://www.vortexoptics.com/product/vortex-crossfire-4-12x40-riflescope-v-brite-illuminated-reticle/reticle

I have never used either brand of scope, I am a leupold guy myself but I could not find a Leupold scope with the magnification and Illumination that I want for the right price. Anyways, some input would be greatly appriciated, I'm not looking to break the bank on glass, this is my entry level hunting rifle so I dont want to go crazy

Thanks guys,
JR

incognito
09-07-11, 08:20
In my humble opinion, if you only have $250 as a hard ceiling for buying a scope, used is the only way to go. Any new scope at that price point is still going to be crap. I would hit the EE on this sight and a few others, hit the pawn shops too, and try to land a used Nikon or Burris or other mid-level scope. Just my .02

ccoker
09-07-11, 20:22