PDA

View Full Version : Help with 1911 Malfunctions!!

jtsikes0204
09-09-11, 00:40
I have a Caspian Custom commander, I have been having some issues with it. Its sometimes failing to return to battery. Thinking I may need a new recoil spring.
It also have had a few FTE's. Its not stove piping, but the cartridge is flipping around 180 degrees and being stuck.

what would you suggest as an option to replace or tune?

luvmy40
09-09-11, 07:21
I am not a professional gun smith!!!

What's the history of the pistol? Round count and previous reliability?

Have you done a complete tear down and cleaned lubed and inspected the internals.
Changing the recoil spring would be the easiest/cheapest place to start.

Lincoln7
09-09-11, 08:42
Check your extractor tension. This single part will affect what a 1911 does or doesn't do dramatically. You can find instructions on how to check but I like my extractors to not let go of an empty casing no matter how hard you shake the slide and to let go of a 230 live round (doesn't actually have to be live, can be inert) with a few hard shakes.

The recoil spring is the next place to check. If running a 5" government model go with a 16# (assuming you are running normal pressure ammunition).

maximus83
09-09-11, 11:18
+1 on Lincoln7's suggestion. With 1911's, a high % of feeding and extraction issues are caused by the mags or the extractor. Those are almost always the 2 best places to start checking for issues. In this case, I agree that the extractor tension is the thing to check. However, if you don't know what you're checking FOR, you might need an experienced 1911 gunsmith to tension the extractor for you. This is NOT a job for the inexperienced. And while a new, drop-in extractor from a quality parts maker can often work, it is not likely to work optimally. The extractor tension is one of the most important reliability factors on your entire pistol.