PDA

View Full Version : Outfit a Colt 6920??

Colt 6920
11-10-07, 15:11
I just bought a Colt LEO 6920. I'd like to start outfitting it with one of the Aimpoint Comp style scopes. Since I'm new to AR's I'm not quite sure where to start. I've spent a week researching the different Aimpoint scopes and the ENDLESS mounts and rails that can be used. Also confusing is the fact that may of the mounts and rails look similar but vary in price from 9 bucks to well over a hundred. I want a good soild system...nothing cheap. I like my AR handle but could be persuaded to get rid of it if necessary. The stock forend rails on the 6920 also appear to be larger in diameter than most other AR's. Is this a problem for some of the mounting options?? As you can see I'm lost here.:confused:

What do you experts consider a good quality Aimpoint scope and mounting system for the Colt LEO 6920?
I sincerely appreciate the help!

mvician
11-10-07, 15:19
Aimpoint CompML2 and LaRue Tactical LT-129 mount :D

R.Miksits
11-10-07, 15:49
Id do a Aimpoint Comp M4 in the standerd mount. Larue tactical forend rails with a LaRue Tac Pinned Gas Block. Troy Flip up Sights and a Surfire M910C.

Thats the way my next LMT will be set up :)

R.Miksits

sgtlmj
11-10-07, 15:55
Comp M3 (5 year battery life) and a Larue LT-129 (pictured) or an LT-150.

The stock handguards on the 6920 are double heat shield and are larger. You can replace these with just about any rail you want. I've gone with the Knight M4 RAS, which is mil issue and can be found used for $150 if you look around.

http://www.sgtlmj.com/le6920.jpg

Colt 6920
11-10-07, 16:02
Now thats one beautiful rifle.

I leaning towards the Aimpoint M3 in a 2MOA dot size. I have an older Aimpoint Comp that looks and works great but the 7 MOA dot seems a little to large for my taste.

What type of sling is on yours?

sgtlmj
11-10-07, 16:06