PDA

View Full Version : Question for ACOG/RDS owners

philipeggo
09-10-11, 22:18
So i need some guidance ,I have the chance to buy an ACOG at a solid price . Any ACOG. My situation is this: I have the money to buy 1 optic for my primary rifle , Sadly i cannot try most of them because not many places around here carry Aimpoint,Eotech,or Trijicon and if they do they are sealed up and not available for playing with , I am also a noob but am attending my first class soon and would like to have a optic to run the class with . These are the questions i have :
1) I am pretty sure i know the answer but out of the 3 styles of sights (RDS, Holo,Fiber optic) which is the most user friendly ?
1a) out of the Acogs which is the most user friendly?
2) I know this is very subjective but which style would give the most flexibility in terms of performance in various settings ?

There are so many damn ACOG models im a tad overwhelmed and since ive looked through maybe 1 in my life im not sure which to get . The rifle its going on is my primary defensive rifle . I get that one optic doesn't fulfill every need however i am looking for one that will fulfill MOST needs while allowing me to train around its shortcomings . I did a search and found info on the individual models and brands and im not totally clueless however this is one of those things where if i buy it im stuck with it and i would rather not regret my purchase . My first instinct is to get a Eotech EXPS-3 and be done with it because I very briefly got to play with one and took to it quckly, but i figured id ask .

totenkopf_u64
09-10-11, 23:31
To make matters worse, have you considered an illuminated 1-4x variable power scope? The TR24 or Vortex Viper pst may be worth a look. From my understanding you get a great deal of utility, but they may not be the best at any given task. If you're willing to spend acog money, check out the grsc crs 1-6x scope... I wish i had the money for one of them.