PDA

View Full Version : Glock Tactical Lights: 10 or 11???

Glock17JHP
09-14-11, 19:40
OK... this is my first time on this forum, I am usually on the 'Terminal Effects' or 'Shotgun' forums.

I have a 3rd Gen Glock 19, and have decided to seriously look at getting a tactical light for it. Until now I have used a Surefire 6Z with the rubber grommet and lanyard... and this was to keep the light 'separate' from the pistol to lessen the danger if I were to get return fire. However, I am thinking it would be simpler to use a weapon-mounted light... so here I am.

I am sort of thinking Glock Tactical Light 10/11... but am unsure of the actual differences in the 10 and 11 models. The 10 has a "Touch detent switch", while the 11 has a "Touch dimmer switch". I do not know the difference... please enlighten me!!!

One reason I like the Glock 10/11 models are their prices. I am a homeowner, so the use will be HD, not LE. I am wanting the lightest weight in a weapon light, with 60 Lumens at least. These 2 models seem to fit my weight and pricing requirements, but I want to know as much about them both as possible before making a purchase.

Thank you!!!

Code3Patriot
09-14-11, 21:40
If you are want a quality light and price is a factor, look at the Streamlight TLR-1s. The Streamlight is utilizes a CREE LED while the Glock tac light is a Xenon bulb. You will have a ton of holster options with the G19/TLR-1, while with the GTL light you will have close to zero.

I've been a cop for ten years and have worked alongside people from a number of different local and federal agencies. I've never seen one person with a GTL light equipped on their weapon. Stick with Surefire, Streamlight or Insight if you want a quality weapon mounted light for HD.

Everyone else after me is going to chime similar info to you.

Dennis
09-15-11, 18:14