PDA

View Full Version : Ammo Recommendations

Serlo II
09-18-11, 12:46
Clearly some of you have devoted a great deal of time to evaluation of ammo.
I have had some very bad experiences with a case of factory reloads.
I am really looking for two kinds of Ammo. One for practice and one for combat situations. The practice ammo should be good enough to be run for defense in an emergency situation.

I have been shopping around and have been looking at the following:
IMI 193C for practice, 1200 round case
Federal Lake City XM193 for practice, 1000 round case
Hornady TAP LEO .223 75gr for Combat/Defense
Black Hills .223 75gr hollow point

I’d like to standardize on a couple of ammo types to keep my weapon/ammo/practice situation stable.

I am very interested in your thoughts on practice and defense ammo selection.

Thank you.

KhanRad
09-18-11, 13:07
Picking something in the middle goes half-assed both ways. You've got training ammo that is too expensive, and defensive ammo that isn't all that great. Dr. Facker and Roberts have commented pretty extensively on how unreliable all FMJ(M193 and M855) loads are in 5.56 when it comes to fragmentation.
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=26905

As M16/M4 barrel lengths have gotten shorter, and twist rates have increased, so to has FMJ fragmentation reliabilty. OTM loads are a little more reliable, but they still have a margin of error when it comes to effective fragmentation. The Pennsylvania shootout where the perp took multiple 75gr TAP his with minimal fragmentation is a good example. Overall, fragging is not a reliable means of bullet wounding. Here's a great read on military ammo types, and why it is VERY important to use good quality ammo partcularly in the 5.56:
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=32989