PDA

View Full Version : Accu-Wedge

krgwag
09-18-11, 20:52
What's everybodys thoughts on the accu-wedge? I've never used one before.

rsilvers
09-18-11, 20:56
I doubt it has any benefit to accuracy since the optic and barrel are both on the upper, but you can use it to remove annoying rattle from especially loose upper/lower fits.

a0cake
09-18-11, 21:09
A reasonable amount of play between the upper and lower receiver has absolutely no effect on accuracy. The relationship between the optic / sights and the barrel is unaffected by this movement. All an Accu-Wedge is going to do is break apart and jam up your fire control group, possibly rendering your weapon unusable. And if Murphy has his way, this will be at the worst possible time. The Accu-Wedge is a solution looking for a problem. Stay away.

orionz06
09-18-11, 21:10
As a Colt AR-15/M-16 Armorer what do you know about its function?

a0cake
09-18-11, 21:11
Also forgot to mention that sometimes an Accu-Wedge can make it extremely difficult to move the takedown pin without using some kind of punch. This is less than ideal in case you need to quickly break down your rifle. Also, think about the additional stress such a tight fit would put on that pin and related assemblies. Yet another reason to not use an Accu-Wedge.

rsilvers
09-18-11, 21:14
I can't imagine one breaking apart inside the gun. They are compressed under and wedged behind the pin lug. I have heard of pistol recoil buffers breaking inside the gun though.

jet80tv
09-18-11, 21:14
As a Colt AR-15/M-16 Armorer what do you know about its function?

Function of what? A Colt? I'm sure it functions fine without the accu-wedgie

Robb Jensen
09-18-11, 21:19
I only use them in match guns to tighten up the fit.

Blowby
09-18-11, 21:23