PDA

View Full Version : Apex FSS kit in an older M&P 9

pp03337
09-22-11, 16:02
Hi all,

I live in The Netherlands and I have the intention to buy a M&P 9. I have called some gun shops and only one has a M&P 9 in stock, it has the serial number MPH7xxx, I guess it was made sometime in 2007??

I want to put the Apex FSS trigger kit in it. I would like to ask if there are any problems with a M&P 9 from this era? Is it relatively easy to put the FSS parts in it? I am a complete noob regarding M&P, I have been shooting Glocks sofar.

DJK
09-22-11, 16:18
Hi all,

I live in The Netherlands and I have the intention to buy a M&P 9. I have called some gun shops and only one has a M&P 9 in stock, it has the serial number MPH7xxx, I guess it was made sometime in 2007??

I want to put the Apex FSS trigger kit in it. I would like to ask if there are any problems with a M&P 9 from this era? Is it relatively easy to put the FSS parts in it? I am a complete noob regarding M&P, I have been shooting Glocks sofar.

My M&P9 has a serial number beginning with MPV and was manufactured in 2007. I installed the FSS Kit in it a few months ago and had no problems with the install. Just follow Randy's videos. It made a huge improvement. :D

mizer67
09-22-11, 17:41
This kit will install fine in an old M&P, but you would not be able to use the stronger sear spring included with the kit.

You'll need to buy a new, >2010 mfg. sear block (~27 US$) if you want to use the stronger spring, as the new sear spring is a larger diameter. I believe the stronger spring was included to mitigate failures to reset, as the mass of the FSS sear and timing have changed so much.

I shot my M&P 9mm with the old, smaller diameter sear spring for about ~1K rounds without a failure, but it's strongly recommended you do not do so by Apex.

rjacobs
09-22-11, 21:54