PDA

View Full Version : Economy tipping into recession.

30 cal slut
09-30-11, 07:22
A very reliable (and carefully watched) economic outfit - Economic Cycle Research Institute (ECRI) stated this morning that we are tipping into recession.

I am probably posting to you what is apparently obvious to everybody, but in my mind this is about as official as it gets, given ECRI's near-perfect track record of predicting recessions. The outfit's long-leading growth index for the US has been tanking for months now. Apparently, the intensity and duration of this downturn (starting in June), along with a flood of alarm bells prompted ECRI to make the call this morning.

We don’t make these calls lightly. When we make them, it’s because there’s an overwhelming objective message coming out of our forward-looking indicators. What is going on with the leading indicators is wildfire; it’s not reversible.

I have been tracking ECRI for over ten of fifteen years in my career as an investment securities analyst on Wall Street. I have never heard Lakshman Achuthan speak in the gloomy tone that he did this morning.

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2011-09-30/u-s-is-heading-toward-another-recession-ecri-s-achuthan-says-tom-keene.html

U.S. Tipping Into Another Recession, Achuthan Says: Tom Keene 2011-09-30 13:17:29.726 GMT

By Liz Capo McCormick

Sept. 30 (Bloomberg) -- The world’s largest economy is showing signs of slumping, said the Economic Cycle Research Institute’s Lakshman Achuthan, citing leading indicators.

“The U.S. economy is tipping into a new recession,” Achuthan, the group’s chief operations officer in New York, said in a radio interview today on “Bloomberg Surveillance” with Tom Keene and Ken Prewitt. “You have wildfire among the leading indicators across the board. Non-financial services plunging, manufacturing plunging, exports plunging. That is such a deadly combination.”