PDA

View Full Version : AR questions...

jsf343
09-30-11, 10:00
Hello,

I am new to this great site and am just starting to get into AR's and learning all the in's and out's. I have done a few searches on various things and the more I read the more questions and minor confussion my little pea brain has.

So, I was hoping to have a running discussion on AR's and different parts.

Thanks for any answers and replies you offer ahead of time I really appreciate it, it is one thing I really like about this site (people respect each other, take the time to answer questions etc.).

First question... what is the biggest difference in barrel length? if you were building an AR why buy a 16" verses a 14" etc. does length give a more stable/longer shot? shorter for closer shots maybe?

second question... what are some of the main differences in hand guards? I see hundreds of different types, is it purely looks or is there some degree of protection from heat? Do longer ones offer more stability wheen shooting? (being able to hold farther out)

Ok, that all for the moment, but there will be more.

mike_556
09-30-11, 10:07
There are a lot of variables to your questions, perhaps a little more searching might help. One difference with <14" bbl's is NFA comes into play, is the difference worth the extra $200 stamp if you can own SBR's in your state? You'll see lots of differing opinions on bbl lengths and gas system lengths here. I run 16" myself on my POW's.
As far as HG's, are you looking to free-float or go with non-FF? That's one major difference. Heat shielding is something to be aware of (I'd avoid el cheapo chicom knockoffs). I like MOE HG's for non-FF applications myself.

shua713
09-30-11, 10:34
I am still pretty new to the whole ar platform myself, this is definately one of the best places to get info. I have had some of the members of the forum come along side of me and help me with negotiating my way through the vast amounts of information on the subject.

Hmac