PDA

View Full Version : Shopping for a new .22LR

lamarbrog
10-04-11, 12:49
I have a Remington 510 Targetmaster made in 1947. Just a little single shot .22LR, but one of my favorite rifles to shoot. It is cheap to feed, and has amazing accuracy.

A few problems...
1) It has open sights, and I'd prefer an aperture.
2) It isn't going to last forever at the rate I shoot it.
3) I don't want to shoot it out, since I'd like it as a functioning "wall hanger".

So, I have begun poking around a bit to find a replacement for it.

I definitely don't want an autoloader. I have a Ruger 10/22 that I probably haven't shot in at least five years. Due to the nature of the .22LR cartridge, I really like having more weapon manipulation since it keeps me interested. I feel like I'm doing something.An autoloader doesn't give me that.

So, a bolt action is pretty much what I am left with. (Don't desire a lever action .22LR... no real reason, just not what I'd prefer.) So, what are my options? What have y'all tried and been happy with? Anything in particular to avoid?

I don't want to dissuade anyone from sharing their ideas, but I have something in mind I'd like input on. This isn't set in stone, I just looked this up last night- my mind is not made up by any means.

While acting as a volunteer rifle instructor at a scout camp last summer, I had some exposure to the CZ Model 513. Now, this is a youth rifle and is on the small side for me, but I was impressed with the workmanship. They seemed well built and accurate during the brief time I had with them.

I did a little research, and found that the CZ Model 452 is a full size .22LR marketed as a "military trainer". After reading a bit on the model, I found one in stock locally and went to take a look. I liked it. Anyone have any experience with this model in particular?