PDA

View Full Version : Merits of a 75 Yard Zero (Initial Intersection)

saddlerocker
10-08-11, 18:38
I did a search and surprisingly not one thread on a 75 yard zero. (I know its not technically a zero, but thats how im going to refer to it here)

It would seem a 75 yard zero would be a perfect balance between the popular 50 yard zero and 100 yard zero.

You would be about .8" low at 50, on at 75, .5" high at 110, back on at 150, then increasingly lower from then on. (from molon's charts)

It would require no hold overs or unders from 50-175 yards and only be at a max 1" high or low. Barely noticeable and more than good enough to hit center mass.

I understand if your shooting for precision you would want to be exact, but for a battle zero this seems very simple to me.

Am I missing something obvious? I am by no means an expert.

Belmont31R
10-08-11, 18:44
With a 50 yard zero you would be within a 4MOA Aimpoint dot from just past CQB to 250 yards depending on load on and offset over bore. At 250 yards a 4MOA dot would be 10".

Jwalker
10-08-11, 20:22
For 30 years I used something similar to that on my scoped hunting rifles: one inch high at 100 yards, on at 165, one inch low at 200, and since the vast majority of my deer were inside that range it was hugely better than having to use a big hold-under on the most common, shorter, shots. That also left me an easy to remember five inches low at 250 and 10 inches low at 300, for shots that were relatively uncommon (to me, at least).

For an AR, though, it may not be the best for me. First, I expect I'll be using a red dot sight instead of a scope, and I won't be shooting much at 200 yards-plus. Second, one of the benefits of the Desanto 50-yard/200-yard zero is that a 25-yard initial cross of line of sight allows me to use the standard iron sight cam for other ranges as marked on the sight. Sight at a different range and the standard iron sight markings won't work.

Failure2Stop
10-09-11, 02:04