PDA

View Full Version : Colt MT6400 Question

DeltaSierra
10-11-11, 19:09
A friend of mine is new to firearms, and as he lives in a ban state, his choices are quite limited.

I am researching some options for him (as he doesn't know enough about the subject to make a really good decision) and I haven't been able to find answers to a few questions about the new(er) Colt MT6400 rifles.

Are the trigger pins/takedown pins the correct diameter (as opposed to Colt's proprietary pin size?)

What are the markings on the lower receiver?

Does the lower have a sear block like the older Colt Match Target rifles?

Redline
10-11-11, 22:24
I got one 2 yrs ago cause I'm in a ban state. See this thread in which I talked a lot about it. There is someone in there that has a link to another thread a couple years before that.

https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=34534

I went down the line on how in matches up to the features chart they used to have up. Since I'm not very technical I couldn't verify some of the stuff. But the gun is a great gun.

I seem to remember others have said it is essentially a 6920 except for the ugly muzzle brake on mine and non collapseable stock. The new one has no device on end of the barrel. There is no sear block on mine and it came with an M16 carrier. The newer mt6400r might be the way to go now. It has a free floated rail. As far as the FCG pins on mine, I believe they are not the prefered size on mine. Here's what I found which I talked about in the above thread.