PDA

View Full Version : Question on TRX Alpha Rail

saddlerocker
10-16-11, 19:23
Im new to rails and still trying to understand what fits what and how there all installed so bear with me......

So I see that Midway has the 11" and 13.8" Alpha rails with built in flip sight in stock. (Troys website says 13" Midway says 13.8")

On troys website it says that the 11" and 13" with flip up front sight, are not compatible with midlength gas systems.
Does the flip sight interfere with the gas block?
I dont care about the flip sight really, ill just wait for the ones without the front sight, but im curious why it doesnt work.

Id really like an Alpha rail because it uses the stock barrel nut, would it also slip over a cut/shaved FSB and flash hider? Meaning I would not have to remove anything from my barrel? (Besides cut off delta ring ect...)

Edit: Link Added...
http://www.midwayusa.com/Product/549133/troy-industries-11-trx-alpha-battle-rail-modular-free-float-handguard-with-integral-flip-up-front-sight-ar-15-black

Zzzake
10-16-11, 19:55
This is the "note" on Troy's website: NOTE: 11″ Alpha Rails with built in sights are not compatible with mid length or intermediate length gas systems, 13″ Alpha Rails with built in sights are not compatible with Rifle length or Intermediate length gas systems.

So the 13" will work with regular mid length. Just not the intermediate length. I only know Noveske and KAC that have a inter-mid-length system (correct me if I am wrong).

If you do a search on URX II and mid length upper, you will see some pictures that the base of the flip up sight interfere with the top of the gas block and some people shave the gas block a bit to solve the issue. I would assume its the same for Alpha rail.

I been looking at the Alpha rail and the URX III for the next build too. So if anything I assumed if wrong, please let me know :)

saddlerocker
10-16-11, 20:30
Ok, Thanks for the clarification.