PDA

View Full Version : How to convert to .223 Wylde?

.Scarecrow.
10-26-11, 19:18
What are the steps to convert a rifle to .223 Wylde?

steelonsteel
10-26-11, 21:45
I'm no expert, but I would think a chamber reamer on a .223 chamber would be it yeah?

skyugo
10-27-11, 00:44
i think a fair question is "why?"

MistWolf
10-27-11, 05:12
The important question is "from what?"

I believe if the chamber is a SAAMI 223 (which is getting scarce these days) a chamber reamer will do it. If it's a 5.56 NATO chamber, the barrel would need to be replaced

.Scarecrow.
10-27-11, 06:21
Uhmm, because it allows you to shoot 5.56 and .223 more accurately than just a 5.56. I'm not for sure doing it yet, I just hear how its a smarter chambering.

bp7178
10-27-11, 07:18
What kind of precision are you getting now, and with what type of ammo?

markm
10-27-11, 07:57
If you're after precision, I'd just get the barrel you want as opposed to modifiying your current barrel.

Failure2Stop
10-27-11, 13:10
Converting to .223 Wylde?
1- Remove current barrel
2- Install match barrel with .223 Wylde chamber

One of the reasons that .223 Wylde chambers are desirable is that they are put into very good match barrels. Putting a .223 Wylde into a trash barrel isn't going to do much. Personally, for AR application, I would prefer to have one of the better precision combat barrels such as those offered by BCM, Noveske, and LaRue (to name 3).

.Scarecrow.
10-27-11, 14:22
Converting to .223 Wylde?
1- Remove current barrel
2- Install match barrel with .223 Wylde chamber

One of the reasons that .223 Wylde chambers are desirable is that they are put into very good match barrels. Putting a .223 Wylde into a trash barrel isn't going to do much. Personally, for AR application, I would prefer to have one of the better precision combat barrels such as those offered by BCM, Noveske, and LaRue (to name 3).

The thing about Noveske barrels though is you can't use a regular AR gas block with front sights though right?