PDA

View Full Version : Dressing Game knife

rickp
11-06-11, 09:31
Hey guys,
I'm looking for a good knife used for dressing. Something that can be supper sharp and small. I don't think it needs to be a big knife for this purpose.

Thanks
R

Dave L.
11-06-11, 10:31
Buy an $18-$40 Mora Knife; easy to sharpen, lightweight, and cheap. The stainless is obviously more maintenance free when dealing with blood, but their carbon/Triflex blades will probably hold an edge longer.
Here is a good selection:
http://www.traditionalwoodworker.com/Mora-Knives/products/731/

I have a Bushmaster Triflex, Orange Stainless Clipper (now the Companion), and the Army Stainless. I carry the super bright orange Clipper/Companion (http://www.traditionalwoodworker.com/Mora-Clipper-Fluorescent-Companion/productinfo/118%2D0024/)out with me hunting...impossible to lose.

*I drill a hole in the bottom of all the handles and run a 550-cord lanyard through them.

rickp
11-06-11, 11:22
thanks, that's what I was looking for.

R>

Dave L.
11-06-11, 11:29
thanks, that's what I was looking for.

R>

Rick,
Check out this thread about Mora's:
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=74588

Chromium4500
11-06-11, 14:07
I use the 3" blade on my Leatherman. The small blade is just the right size to field-dress a deer and the stainless tool steal blade holds an edge like a knife that cost 10x as much.

rickp
11-06-11, 17:06
Thats good to know since i have one. Thanks

DTHN2LGS
11-07-11, 15:13
I have been using my Leatherman Wave for dressing deer for several years and it works great.

DemonRat
11-08-11, 01:07
I use a Wyoming knife I have the smaller one and it works great light weight small enough to put on ur belt and not even notice it. I have been using one of these for over 15 years now. Works great on large and small game.

http://www.wyomingknife.com/knives.htm

crossgun
11-08-11, 04:40
Take a look at Knives of Alaska

http://www.knivesofalaska.com/

icnodeer
12-14-11, 20:37