PDA

View Full Version : Beginning Marksmanship: Looking for Some Pointers

Fr0gger
11-11-11, 15:20
Hello all,

First off, allow me to introduce myself: I am an undergraduate mechanical engineering student in Indiana that is interested in getting into shooting. I have been perusing this site for quite some time now, learning what I can from people more experienced than myself. Now that I have a .22, ammo, and hearing protection, I am in the position to get started.

I understand that there are classes out there that I could take to help me, but with my coursework I do not have the time to set aside to attend one. Even with the search button and the wealth of knowledge on the site, I still haven't been able to determine exactly where I should begin.

My goal first and foremost is to develop good marksmanship and work my way up from there. Being that many of you have been shooting for years, is there anything in particular that you recommended I do to get started? Anything that you wish you would have known? I am aiming to avoid the development of bad habits and make the most out of my practice.

Big Wall
11-11-11, 16:59
Dryfire or attend the 1st day of an appleseed shoot where they will teach you the basics of shooting.

n517rv
11-11-11, 21:07
Dryfire or attend the 1st day of an appleseed shoot where they will teach you the basics of shooting.

+1 on the Appleseed shoot.

See http://www.appleseedinfo.org for more info.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Tab

Outlaw621
12-03-11, 02:14
Try to take a beginners course or at least attend an appleseed shoot. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Its best to ask questions and shoot safely and correctly than be to embarrassed and injured. Remember, if something sounds like a stupid idea with a firearm it usually is.

durus5995
12-04-11, 03:05