PDA

View Full Version : Do I need a Pelican case?

BigLarge
11-12-11, 01:51
I'll make this short and sweet. I'm a Police Officer, and my patrol rifle is an RRA AR15. I recently purchased a Larue SPR-E mount and a Meopta K-Dot for it. The gun currently sits in the factory RRA case, which goes in the trunk while on patrol.

Obviously, I cannot afford for this thing to get knocked outa whack. (though I understand Larue mounts are near bullet proof).

Do I need a heavy duty case (Pelican) to ensure everything stays zero'd and in good case? Or am I just asking for trouble using what I have?

Joeywhat
11-12-11, 03:16
It's certainly not a bad idea, and it will protect more then just the optic. Remember, mags are relatively fragile, too.

If it's back there by itself I wouldn't worry too much...if you have a bunch of other gear in with it, I think it would be a sound investment.

kmrtnsn
11-12-11, 07:54
Get a Pelican case, and then get a chain and a couple of good locks to go with it. Yours won't be the first police car broken into when you are 10-6, filing a report for your stolen personal weapon isn't something that you want to do.

bp7178
11-12-11, 08:43
I have a Pelican 1700 that I transport my rifle in.

I had been considering a Larue discreet case, but wanted something with more protection, as it would be in the trunk of the car.

Anything bigger than the 1700, and it can be slightly ungainly to carry around. Just getting in and out of doors is slightly cumbersome.

I wish Pelican made a smaller case where I could break the upper and lower down to make it easier to carry, similar in size to the Larue discreet case.

I hade a 1720, while it had tons of room, the extra 6" was very noticeable when it came time to carry it.

TehLlama
11-12-11, 10:41