PDA

View Full Version : DIY Holster- Questions

Quinn
11-13-11, 20:26
Turning 21 tommorow and have started to contemplate what method of carry would best suit me.

I have some limited experience with secret city weaponeers k25 and a g19. It concealed very well but I am already worried about printing and I havnt even started carrying yet.

I live in South Florida and spend most everyday in T-Shirt and Shorts. I would like to try appendix carry because I feel like it would conceal better with my attire.

Interested in pressing my own holsters for many reasons..

How many of you guys carry your DIY Kydex holsters? How many of you are using appendix?

Do you find they print considerably more than a big name companys holster? (obviously dependent on maker but for arguments sake I would like to hear from someone who has mastered making holsters)

Is it a big no-no to carry Appendix with a weaponlight attached?

Thanks!

Mr blasty
11-14-11, 01:28
I would get experienced with carrying a firearm in a more traditional location before going to appendix carry. It's nothing to fool around with since you can kill yourself if you mess up even once. I'm just now thinking about appendix carry after about 3 years of carrying at 4 o'clock IWB. I'm planning on getting something with a safety and carrying dry around the house and practicing religiously for at least a few months before I carry loaded AIWB. My girlfriend is irate with me for even entertaining the idea of AIWB, apparently she is "afraid of losing her cock" as she put it.:jester:

Pax
11-14-11, 11:39
Follow the steps in the make your own holster thread and you shouldnt have any serious printing issues when carrying IWB around 4 o'clock. Doesnt matter what thickness Kydex you use.

AIWB carrying a light-bearing 19 will make you cry every time you sit down, bend over, get in a car, etc. Go ahead and give it a shot, though I expect you'll end up going with ~4 o'clock carry like most people.