PDA

View Full Version : roll your own buffer?

chuckocaster
11-17-11, 18:49
maybe a total newb question, but after getting my H2 in the mail i'm wondering why i can't just take the stock buffer apart and add more weight to it. i have a metal shop at my house and various pieces of round stock laying around. the weights are listed in the buffer sticky so i don't really see any reason i couldn't just modify the one i'm not using.

so is this possible, and if any of you guys have done this what has been your experience with it?

GTifosi
11-17-11, 19:05
If you have tungsten round stock you can do it, otherwise if you're just talking steel stock, you wouldn't be making any weight difference to even make it worth the effort even knocking the roll pin out.
You'd be better off turning a steel buffer body to replace the aluminum one at that stage, complete with center bore to accept the wieghts as they are a vital part of function, then cross drill or relieve the turning to get the weight where you want it.

Keep your standard buffer, get an H3, and between the two you can make any of the regular weight buffers by juggling internal bits.

Todd.K
11-17-11, 19:05
Heavy buffers use tungsten weights in place of the 3 steel weights in a standard carbine buffer, one in an H, 2 in an H2, 3 in an H3.

Neo Mara
11-17-11, 19:19
If you end up rolling your own tungsten weights consider selling them. I never could find a place to buy just the weights and I wouldnt mind having a couple extra. Would be interested as long as they are to spec, right alloy, weight, etc.

MarkG
11-17-11, 20:01
If you end up rolling your own tungsten weights consider selling them. I never could find a place to buy just the weights and I wouldnt mind having a couple extra. Would be interested as long as they are to spec, right alloy, weight, etc.

$25 each... How many do you want? I'll even provide you a copy of the of the manufacturers COC.

Iraqgunz
11-17-11, 22:40