PDA

View Full Version : Irons vs RDS on FAST drill, M&P accuracy, and FRE issues

goteron
11-20-11, 21:20
So I went to the range today to test a few things. One was accuracy at 25 yards using WWB and +P so see if my pistols exhibited the early unlocking issue that is being discussed. I have heard from a reliable source that this affects less than 1% of the guns that leave S&W. The second was to run the FAST drill on two identical guns, irons vs RMR. A third issue came up during the range session that I will also discuss.

Gear:

2 M&P 9FS guns
Apex FSS
Apex RAM
Apex FRE
Stream light TLR-3
Small backstrap with stippling.
1 gun has a 8moa LED non adjustable RMR, the second has ameriglo sights. (I am waiting to get the second one milled to be an identical backup as the RMR equipped gun is my carry gun)
Secret city weaponeers holster (iwb)
T-Shirt - concealed
Bladetech single mag pouch
Mags have 10-8 followers

I started shooting about 2.5 years ago, and probably have somewhere in the region of 20,000 combined pistol rounds in the last 2 years. However, I most of those are on RDS guns. I was an early adopter and moved away from irons quickly. I previously shot glocks, and switched to M&Ps after getting an opportunity to shoot one.

I had never run the FAST drill before today, and actually only learned about it Friday, when I printed 20 targets. I don't shoot competition at all, so was lucky enough to come across pistol training.com after following the rabbit trail on the early unlocking issue.

I missed the part about running it cold until just reviewing some things just now, so my best times were recorded after having run it 15 times.

I had just installed the FSS kits and FRE extractors a few nights ago. I dry fired the fast drill a few times to get a feel for the test and try out the new triggers, they are great by the way.