PDA

View Full Version : Glock 17 for next handgun

Slater
11-28-07, 19:23
After looking at the various options I've decided to go with the G17 for a general purpose range plinker and HD weapon. I'm a novice to the Glock world but after firing a friend's G17 (and considering my somewhat limited budget) the G17 seems like a winner.

I'm told that this particular model is one of the more trouble-free Glocks and that new ones are the so-called "3rd Generation" models. Local prices average around $500-520 with one place selling them for $460.

For you G17 owners, have you been satisfied with the performance and reliability of this weapon?

BigTinVA
11-28-07, 19:42
For you G17 owners, have you been satisfied with the performance and reliability of this weapon?

Absolutely! I own six G17's. You will not be making a bad choice at all with a G17 and it would be a major bonus to pick up a new one for $460. Enjoy it man.

M4arc
11-28-07, 21:08
I'm very satisfied with the reliability and performance of my G17s (I own two of them).

I love the fact that the G17 is the original Glock, has proven itself in dozens of reliability test, holds 17 + 1 rounds and has a ton of accessory support.

However I just don't shoot the G17 as well as I do the G19. Do yourself a favor before you spend your hard earned money and shoot a G19 before you buy. Then decide which one to get first ;)

k9dpd
11-28-07, 21:20
I am just the opposite, I shoot my 17 better than my 19, its all about shooting both and see what you like.

Beat Trash
11-28-07, 21:23
Can't go wrong with either the Glock 17 or 19.

If you aren't going to CCW the gun, then I'd go with the G17.

variablebinary
11-28-07, 22:05
Great gun. I love me some Glocks

graffex
11-28-07, 23:47
My handgun of choice ;)

http://i40.photobucket.com/albums/e241/rmdugan84/g172.jpg

Striker5
11-29-07, 06:39
The pistol I have that is carried and fired the most is my Glock 17.

Glock 17: $480 (including tax)
Bowie Tactical Concepts