PDA

View Full Version : Lasers 101

ddemis
12-01-07, 02:15
Can someone explain the difference between A red and green laser, pros and cons etc. I have zero experience with lasers and would like make a first purchase. Any info please.

John_Wayne777
12-01-07, 14:53
Can someone explain the difference between A red and green laser, pros and cons etc. I have zero experience with lasers and would like make a first purchase. Any info please.

I'm not sure what you are asking here....

Generally the laser sighting devices you are going to see on the market are going to be either a visible laser or an IR laser. The visible laser can be seen with the naked eye, while the IR laser won't be seen unless you are using some sort of night vision. By "green" laser, do you mean a green colored visible laser or an IR laser?

Are you looking to mount some sort of laser sight on a pistol or a long gun? Is this a weapon meant for home defense, concealed carry, or some sort of duty use?

Answering these questions will help our experienced posters to give you relevant info for your needs. It wouldn't do you any good, for instance, for me to talk about how good the DBAL is when you are thinking of mounting a laser on a concealed carry handgun....

TUNNEL RAT 33
12-01-07, 20:28
red lasers can be seen at night , and are difficult to see in sunlight . the green laser i have can be seen in bright sunlight both to the naked eye as well as with a scope , at night its even better with visibility out to whatever you desire . you can also see the beam . in a dark room its so bright you dont need a flashlight . just remember , they're like tracers - they work both ways . i have the aimshot .

ddemis
12-01-07, 20:50
I want to mount a laser/ light combo on my RRa m-4 rifle. I was leaning twoard a Insight technologies model but it only comes with a red laser and it looks like green is a much better choice.Any one have experience with a set up like that and any other ideas, thanks.

John_Wayne777