PDA

View Full Version : Coating on a5 buffer tube

Shoulderthinggoesup
11-30-11, 12:26
I went to begin installing my new vltor a5 buffer tube last night and when I did a modest amount of the black powder started to fall on to the table. When I unscrewed the tube the coating had been stripped off many of the threads. The tube was not hard to screw in at all. Not even a little bit, so I was rather shocked that the coating was rubbing and flaking off so easily.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7160/6429031915_899ac2b784.jpg

This is my first time building an AR so I am unsure if this is normal...? My concern is that I got one with a bad coating application that will open it up to corrosion etc. The aesthetics are no big deal, as I will just paint it if it really bothers me.

Should I return this or is it GTG?

EDIT:

For people searching:

1. Vltor said this was not OK, and that It should be returned, as there may have been an error during the anodizing process.

amd5007
11-30-11, 13:01
If you feel up to it, contact them. At least you will have the satisfaction of seeing what they would say.

Other than that, I've had the anodizing wear off around the threads of some receiver extensions and it hasn't caused a problem. And probably never will.

SteadyUp
11-30-11, 13:17
It's still good to go. Just install and enjoy the A5.

Shoulderthinggoesup
11-30-11, 13:32
Sent a email off to vltor just to see what they say on the matter (and to record it here for future searchers). Unless they are like OMGWTF send it back, I am just going to use it.

Thanks for the input.

markm
11-30-11, 13:35
Interesting.... Can't remember mine doing that. I think your concern is legit.... not Earth shattering... but legit.

kartoffel
11-30-11, 13:43