PDA

View Full Version : Ultrafire C1 review

Sticks
12-01-11, 06:10
Let me start with I use my tac-light for work more than EDC.

I am a field service technician for a concrete paving company. Go outside, and welcome to my office.

I know that there are a great many people that have the "Surefire or nothing, screw that cheap Chinese crap" mentality.

For me, I refuse to pay $60-$140 for a flashlight that I know I will either loose or destroy during the course of my 2500 hour work year.

I have been using the same $25 Ultrafire C1 with a Cree 240 lumen LED for 2 years which replaced the last one I lost, had it for 2 years. Probably still in the ditch on the side of some Colorado highway, just waiting to be turned on (NOTE- don't get out of habit. Done with the light, put it back in your holster.) The Cree LED is the exact same one the Surefire's take, no modifications.

It has been submersed in a variety of liquids, mostly oils and chemicals, dropped from 100 feet (top of a concrete batch plant (it did kill the Cree bulb on that one), bounced it's way to the ground from a large piece of heavy equipment dozens of times, and run over a couple. Never mind how may times it has been flat dropped onto concrete roadways or the rare shop floor.

The tailcap switch is just now starting to get a little flaky. The rubber switch cover is getting funky, probably from the variety of chemicals. Replacement is going to run me $7.

The finish is about 40% worn away, as expected given the abuse. It has a very stout aluminum body that is not dented or egg shaped from the drops or crushing.

For me, the entire Ultrafire line gets a big thumbs up for quality. Given what mine has been subjected to, I have no doubt that the weapon mounts they have available will be just as good, and the light will hold up to the shock of weapon fire.

Batteries. I use my light a lot, so battery costs can add up quick. I buy mine online from Battery Junction.