PDA

View Full Version : TR24 Questions

dlrob
12-01-11, 21:19
I've run some searches but I can't find exactly what I need or I find conflicting information. I want to buy a TR24 package but I have a couple of questions before I pull the trigger.
-From where my cheekweld is, me eye is a little over 3 inches from the charging handle, as a reference point. Do I need an extended eye relief mount?
-Is it just a matter of opinion between LaRue and ADM mounts?
-Any concensus of opinion between red or green triangle?
Thanks for the help. I've run aimpoints forever but I'm new to the magnified scope arena.

cop1211
12-01-11, 21:28
I have 3 of the TR24's.

I run NTCH and use the extended mounts, I have Larue 1.93

ADM, as well as the Bobro are also fine mounts. I actually like the Bobro the best.

The standard should be fine if your 3 inches from the ch.

I have 2 green and one red, both are very nice. I prefer the red.

Try to get to your local fun store and check out which one you prefer.

bp7178
12-01-11, 21:38
No, you don't really need the extended mount. I've used both with similar optics, and I like the standard better.

I like the Larue mounts better. The older ADM mounts only had a six point hex head bolt to adjust tension, and one was on the loose side, the next was way too tight. I've read they've since went to eight point hex head bolts, so look for that. Ordering direct from ADM will make sure you have the most current.

That isn't an issue with the Larue mounts, as the tension is adjusted in a different manor. I also like the way the Larue rings attach. Opossing screws, and less of them. The one thing I hated about my ADM mounts was the copious amount of oil they are shipped in. It's an aluminum mount, I never understood why they did that.

As for reticle, some will say your eye can pick up green easier. This isn't exactly true. Your eye can see more shades of green than any other color. This isn't the same as drawing your eye to it, just a perception of shades.