PDA

View Full Version : RUC vs (your suggestions)

RossR
12-04-11, 20:27
Hi. I'm getting ready to buy another AR (I own 3 already, so, no, I'm not a newbie). I think I'm settled in the Rainier RUC, 14.5. My general criteria for this gun are light-weight with an extended-length, modular handguard and a mid-length gas system. I'm posting, before I make my purchase, to see if anyone has a suggestion for a comparable rifle that I might not have considered. I've looked at the Noveske VTAC and Thunder Ranch, and the LWRC M6A2 SPR, but, for MY needs I don't think I need to spend in the $2K range. I've also looked at the S&W M&P15VTAC and Daniel Defense M4V7, but I think the RUC offers more for the money. I had almost settled on the M&P 15 TS, until I found that is a carbine and not a ML. So... with all that said, can anyone suggest a gun that I might have overlooked? Thanks in advance.

Iraqgunz
12-04-11, 22:13
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?p=1141246

RossR
12-04-11, 23:10
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?p=1141246

Thanks. I had seen that thread before, as well as other reviews on the RUC and Rainier. I was really looking for any suggestions on competitors' guns that might be a good comparison before I made my purchase.

Shoulderthinggoesup
12-05-11, 02:21
I am in WA this weekend for a PA school interview and had the chance to handle the RUC at Rainier. It seems like a well put together piece: light and quick. I of course did not shoot it, as I think they would have been unhappy about me doing that in the store....