PDA

View Full Version : New guy here. If you could have only one handgun???

Giff74
12-07-11, 09:07
Long time reader, first time poster.

A little background. I have a lot more experience with long guns than hand guns. My dad had his share of rifles and shotguns when my brother and I were growing up and he taught us both to shoot them reasonably well. However, Dad always liked revolvers, so I have had very little experience with semi-autos.

My budget is in the $500-600 range. I would love a P30 with the LEM trigger, but my would wife would shoot me for spending $850+ for that gun. This will eventually be my CCW gun, in fact this will be for the foreseeable future my only handgun.

I guess I have the usual list of suspects, gen 4 G19 (extraction issues???), gen 3 G19 (extraction issues also??), Walther PPQ, M & P, dare I add Springfield to the mix????

What experience I have with semi-autos is almost all with older Glocks. I seemed to shoot the Glocks fine, but my hold up is with the current manufacturing issues both the gen 3 and 4 seem to be having.

I would appreciate any words of wisdom you all have. I can't afford a $500 paper weight and although I do like the looks of the gen 4 G19 I don't want to be sending it back and forth to Glock.

Thanks ahead of time, Giff

Quentin
12-07-11, 09:23
In your price range the G19 would be an excellent choice. As far as Gen 3 vs. Gen 4, I'd handle both and hopefully shoot both before deciding. Glock seems to have worked out most of the problems in Gen 4 and I do like the multiple backstraps and new double RSA.

I also had experience only in older Glocks so early this year when I bought a G23 I was concerned about all the reports of problems in Gen 4 and recent Gen 3s. Comparing both in my hands I had to take a chance on the Gen 4 and never regretted it. I did take advantage of Glock's RSA trade in program to get the latest version but never had issues with the 0-3 version the 23Gen4 came with.