PDA

View Full Version : Gun!!!

sboza
12-08-11, 21:20
So, I was at walmart with my girlfriend earlier today. We aren't big gamers but we were looking at uncharted 3 as her semester is almost over and it's a game we like playing together. Well, out of the blue, I hear a woman yell "oh my God, he has a GUN!!!" Scares the crap out of me and I start reaching for my gun as I hear "I'm a cop, I'm a cop!" Well, back to condition orange and it turns out that the off duty officer had a coat on but the woman saw the gun on his hip. He had his badge right in front of his gun but that didn't make a difference. This isn't NYC and people are generally used to the gun culture but this is also a student town so we get people from all over.

My first thought (after I calmed down) was, what if it happened to me? Not being le yet, how would I respond. I generally carry IWB for this reason but it could happen. Has that happened to anyone here? How did you respond?

On the drive home, my girlfriend asked how I would expect her to respond if she saw a gun. I told her that it depends. If I was with her, I told her to just tell me without raising alarms unless something bad was imminent. But even then, I told her I would prefer she not yell and attract attention in our direction. The real issue was in the case that I wasn't there. I told her if she saw someone accidentally expose a holstered gun, all was probably fine (she knew this). But if she saw a gun Mexican carried, maybe make her way out of the store. In the case that someone was holding or (using) a gun, I told her to remain silent and leave the area or if she can't to barricade herself somewhere safe and then contact law enforcement. In short, I gave her the civilian active shooter response breakdown ending with if you have no other option, to fight and use anything at her disposal to win.