PDA

View Full Version : Need some ideas

zach70287
12-15-11, 18:56
So I need some help from you guys. I am new to prepping so I really don't have much at this moment and I want to make sure I am going in the right direction before I start getting to much stuff. Here is my situation. I live in O Fallon, MO which has approximately 80,000 people in it. I live unfortunately in a apartment and I live with my girlfriend. I want to know what I should do in the way of prepping. I have weapons to hunt and to protect myself. I am working on a BOB pack right now, but I don't know what to do in the way of food. Should I just have the food in my BOB or should I have some stashed in the apartment? My concern is that if shtf I don't think a apartment would be a very good place to be. I live 5 min away from a 7,000 acre conservation area. I was thinking that maybe I could go there. It used to be a old military base with bunkers, probably at least 20 of them. Then on the other hand I think that everyone and there mom would have that same idea. I just need some help. Thanks a lot for helping I am just new to all this.

SMETNA
12-15-11, 20:16
Do you have any "country cousins" that would take you in for a while in the event of an emergency?

Staying put is a no go with 80,000 neighbors. Heading into a wilderness is also a no go unless you have a sizable group of able bodies and a butt load of hand tools.

For food, store what you eat and eat what you store. People fall into the "spam trap" all the time, where they buy a metric shit ton of something they never eat, and then it goes bad and it's wasted. Storing freeze dried stuff can eliminate the waste, but it's costly. Best bet, store some pasta and rice and sauce and soup cubes. Go for freeze dried veggies.

Water is more important than food. Do you live near any water? Get a filter. A Katadyn Pocket is fantastic.

If youre here at M4C, I'll assume you have self defense squared away.

zach70287
12-15-11, 20:46