PDA

View Full Version : sully trigger guard

jmoore
12-05-07, 18:37
Just rec'd a Sully trigger guard in the mail this afternoon. Looks like installation should be a no-brainer. OTOH - I've learned that those are just the situations where I screw up most often. (Combine this with the fact that I'm an AR newbie.)

So - anything above & beyond drifting out the old pins, removing the factory guard (on a 6920), and drifting the new pins in?

TIA

SuicideHz
12-05-07, 18:54
From what I've seen it just looks like two roll pins. From what you are saying, it sounds like two roll pins. Should be as simple as drifting them out and drifting the new ones in.

The magpul trigger guard comes with one roll pin and one allen screw but it is threaded for the allen screw.

DrMark
12-05-07, 19:47
When driving out a trigger guard pin, always support the frame tab. Frames have been broken doing this operation on an unsupported frame.

Another trick I do when installing a Magpul trigger guard (apply to others as appropriate) is the following: Drive the roll pin almost completely out, that is, to the point where is frees the trigger guard but remains in the frame tab. Replace the guard and drive the pin back to its original position. This eliminates having to insert a new pin (or the same pin) into the hole in the frame, a step which frustrates some folks.

Jaeger
12-05-07, 20:01
Definitely make sure your frame is fully supported. If you break off one of those little ears you are in the market for a new receiver.

Having a roll pin punch and roll pin starter punch will make the job easier but are not necessary.

SLR15
12-06-07, 19:03