PDA

View Full Version : HK P7 cleaning question

Carniemedic
12-22-11, 14:00
I’m new to the HK P7. It’s a great pistol but holy cow it gets filthy after a trip to the range. I’m trying to find the best way to clean this thing. I first tried my traditional way of rags, CLP, brushes, and Q tips and it took me forever to get the thing clean. Today I decided to clean it like I do my AK 74 after firing corrosive ammo. I put it in hot soapy water and gave it brushing then rinsed it. This method seemed like it cut down on my cleaning time, and really got rid of the powder residue and carbon, but I noticed some “flash” rust forming in the chamber near the groves. After I dried it and cleaned the barrel with Hopps it took care of the problem.

Does anyone else clean their P7 like this, and/or does this seem like a good way of cleaning it?

p7fl
12-22-11, 14:22
Cleaning a P7 is like trying to get all the butter off a toasted English muffin.
Having read the Cult of the P7 Forum for over a decade, most ways work. When your gun stops running your way didn't.
I bought an Ultrasonic.:cool:

F-Trooper05
12-22-11, 14:49
Do you have both a buffer tube scraper and buffer tube brush? They're absolutely necessary. I've had my P7 lock up on me worse than any gun I've ever seen simply because the buffer tube had a little bit too much debris in it. That's one reason I won't carry a P7.

TOrrock
12-22-11, 14:59
Pro tip:

Do not even attempt to get it white glove clean. Moderately clean with carbon on the piston is just fine.

You'll wear it out cleaning it that much, and drive yourself crazy.

Carniemedic
12-22-11, 15:35
Do you have both a buffer tube scraper and buffer tube brush? They're absolutely necessary. I've had my P7 lock up on me worse than any gun I've ever seen simply because the buffer tube had a little bit too much debris in it. That's one reason I won't carry a P7.