PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster XM15-e2s stock removal question.

jesterking
12-07-07, 14:08
ok, not sure if this is the right place to post this... new here :) But i have a bushmaster XM15-e2s. This rifle has a fixed adjustable stock. Meaning the stock wont collapse but it is a collapsible one... lose anyone yet? I purchased it in NY, and recently moved to OH. I am trying to get the stock off of the rifle, but as much as I try with the spanner wrench the nut will not budge. Now when I purchased this rifle, they mentioned something about it being welded. I assumed it was just the collapsible part and not the nut. Is it a typical practice to have the nut welded on so that the owner wont go against state laws? If so, I think I will be quite depressed that I can not change out the stock... Thanks!

TUNNEL RAT 33
12-07-07, 14:14
i have the same rifle - bought it in new york before the ban expired . when i removed the pinned fake stock to put the new real collapseable one on i had to use some force to loosen the castle nut . it wasnt staked or welded at the nut its just on there friggin tight . the part that is welded or pinned is the actual stock part and not the tube or the castle nut . be careful about the little spring when you get the stock off - it'll run away on you .

jesterking
12-07-07, 14:19
Thanks for the incite! I'm going to have to try a jack hammer or something. I used the spanner wrench along with a hammer and no luck (im not weakling either ;) ) This is why I thought it might be welded. Also, I just purchased mine in September... Any suggestions on how to get the castle nut off... I am at my ends wit with it. Not to mention my hands are aching from it.

TUNNEL RAT 33
12-07-07, 14:27