PDA

View Full Version : Anybody have health issues with casting bullets?

Microalign
12-24-11, 12:56
I'm just getting into reloading, and I've noticed that bullets seem to be the most expensive component to buy. I've been looking at the cost savings of casting lead bullets it is becoming very appealing. My wife and I are thinking about working on our first baby, and I have been concerned about exposing myself, my wife, and my kid to lead that may(or may not) cause health issues.

I'm curious of you guys that have cast your own bullets for years have been to the doctor and gotten a slap on the wrist after your blood work came back. There seems to be a lot of speculation on the health issues of lead exposure, and I was hoping to hear some first hand accounts from hand loaders. Thanks.

wesprt
12-24-11, 14:57
I've casted thousands huddled over a pot of molten lead in the driveway :D Long as you keep the lead at the right temperature and not too hot lead exposure via inhalation isn't a big deal, especially if you cast out in the open air. Lead on skin is easily dealt with by taking shower afterward and washing your clothes. Unless you cast every day or practice bad safety habits it shouldn't be an issue. Most of the time we'd cast all the bullets we were going to use for the next month or two in one session, so that really doesn't add up to much in the way of exposure over the course of a year.

If you go to the Cast Boolits forum and search health issues there are lots of them that even cast inside garages and have been tested to have negligible amounts of lead in their body.

nicholst55
12-24-11, 23:09
Don't eat lead, and you'll be fine. No eating, drinking, smoking, or chewing until you thoroughly wash your hands. There's a greater danger of lead contamination from the media dust generated by your brass tumbler than there is by casting bullets.

Microalign
12-26-11, 07:48