PDA

View Full Version : Figuring out pistol accuracy

jc000
12-30-11, 22:42
Sorry in advance. I feel like I may end up having quite a few threads in this New to Firearms/Shooting forum.

How can I determine, where an accuracy issue stems from?

I am a very novice pistol shooter, but have been hitting it fairly hard this past month or so, shooting several hundred rounds over various indoor/outdoor range trips since November.

I picked up a V2 P2000 9mm, my first pistol, and it seems that at best my groupings are quite low. I do understand that HK's must have the sight placed on top of the target. POI just seems off no matter what I do and this is shooting at 3-7 yards.

Conversely, I have shot quite a few mags through an HK 45 and USP 45, as well as an XD 9mm and I consistently get good (for me) sub 3" groupings at 7 yards. POI seems in line with POA.

I am not trying to blame the arrow, but I wonder--what could cause this discrepancy and how do I start to diagnose this either hardware or software issue?

Failure2Stop
12-31-11, 12:23
Sandbag the gun.
Shoot for groups at 25 yards.

Most POI deviation in pistols is due to user influence.
HOWEVER, there are certainly cases where the sights are to blame.
In my experience, sight problems to shooter problems are about 1:20.
It is very difficult to diagnose if the user is not an accomplished shooter.

It helps a lot to have a shooter with known high performance test the gun.

jc000
01-01-12, 20:10
Thank you.

Alaskapopo
01-04-12, 13:49
Sorry in advance. I feel like I may end up having quite a few threads in this New to Firearms/Shooting forum.

How can I determine, where an accuracy issue stems from?

I am a very novice pistol shooter, but have been hitting it fairly hard this past month or so, shooting several hundred rounds over various indoor/outdoor range trips since November.