PDA

View Full Version : Which upper? Newbie to rifles

Manic9803
01-04-12, 10:23
Morning guys, I've been scanning for the forums for about 6 weeks now trying to take in everything I can regarding the AR's. Here's my story, about three weeks ago I went out and purchased a lower receiver and buttstock. The lower is a Spikes tactical and I have a 6 point stock attached. From what I've read this is a mil spec lower and a decent quality company at that.

So I sit he trying to decide what my next step will be. Again I'm new to rifles, part of me says buy the upper complete with barrel and all. Other part of my says do your best and try to piece it together.

I know what I want my rifle to look like from seeing others. However I don't know what upper or barrel I need to get this same functionality and visual. I want a rifle that can be used in close quarters if needed. Flashlight attached, so looking for a setup with a 16" barrel. Could you guys recommend a decent upper? Considered a spikes upper with a 16" barrel. I want to attach quad rails so I can add a light and other accessories if needed. Thanks guys.

hec912
01-04-12, 10:33
I'm on the same boat :secret:

Moltke
01-04-12, 10:34
BCM makes good stuff, look here to get an idea of what you might want.

http://www.bravocompanyusa.com/AR15-Upper-Receiver-Groups-s/1.htm

shua713
01-04-12, 10:49
daniel defense, bcm, colt. that is what I would buy. If you click on the orange search button at the top you will have more info than you know what to do with. Do some research!!

Vash1023
01-04-12, 10:52
or adams arms if you go the piston route

Cameron
01-04-12, 11:22
or adams arms if you go the piston route

Why on earth would anyone want to do that?

Buy a Colt, BCM or DD from Grant at G & R Tactical, http://www.GRTactical.com/ who is a site sponsor.

Cameron

st1650
01-04-12, 11:25

Buy a Colt, BCM or DD from Grant at G & R Tactical, who is a site sponsor.

Cameron

Or a Noveske if you have an extra 200$ laying around.

nml