PDA

View Full Version : Sig Sauer P2022

Leatherneck2111
01-05-12, 00:39
Currently in Afghanistan, and my unit is buying a commemorative pistol, a Sig Sauer P2022.

I'm trying to get a gauge on what is the general concensus on this pistol from the handgun experts here.

For reference, I own an HK45, a Sig Sauer P226 (interchangeable barrels of .357SIG and .40S&W), a Kimber 1911, and a Springfield XD.

mkmckinley
01-05-12, 00:58
I have no personal experience with a P2022 but I know it hasn't been a wild success. It seems a little heavy for a compact polymer framed gun. Do a little research and see what owners have to say.

Unless you really want that specific pistol and it's a really good price you're better off passing on it. Don't buy a gun just because your unit had it LASER engraved. I bought a "commemorative" pistol when I was young and dumb and ended up not liking or having any use for the thing. It ended up being hard to sell due to the unit logo and I took a hit on it.

Just my opinion but you'd be better off getting a pistol you like or one you already own and paying somebody to engrave it for you if that's what you really want. Remember you can get police pricing on Glocks and M&Ps not to mention S&W's additional $50 rebate for servicemembers. PM me if you need the details.

KCBRUIN
01-05-12, 01:04
Being a leatherneck if ya got the cash I'd go for the Springfield MC operator. If not that maybe M9A1's? Just don't see what that particular Sig has to do with .mil and why it would be significant to you. I think getting the unit engraved on the actual weapon I carried would mean more to me.

askani79705
01-05-12, 01:05
They're a bit heavy for a polymer pistol and usually run about $400. The one I bought second hand has been flawless for the 600 rnds I have through it.

Fail-Safe
01-05-12, 01:26