PDA

View Full Version : Advice on setting up a get-home bag

maximus83
01-05-12, 17:41
I'm setting up a lightweight "EDC" or "get-home" bag (GHB) that can also be for common uses like commuting to work, day trips/hikes, etc. (note this is different from the "bug-out "or 3-day assault/survival" pack). Sorry this is long-ish post, but I have no experience with high quality packs and gear-slinging systems apart from holsters. So I did some research including reading threads from the archive here, and worked up some requirements, plus a list of possible brands/models to buy. Wanted to run this by the forum and get input from experienced users before I buy.

My basic usages would be two-fold:
* Main use: as a GHB. I would keep the emergency/survival gear permanently in the bag, even when using for secondary purposes.
* Secondary use: as an all-purpose, EDC, commute-to-work, day-hiker, or airline personal-items bag. Ideally would like it to be able to carry a modest amount of personal stuff, such as a laptop when going to work, or a few books and a Maxpedition EDC bag, etc.

Some questions:
* Is this a bad idea, taking a GHB whose main purpose is survival, and then make it sort of dual-purpose so you can use as an EDC bag? Is there a better setup I should look at?
* For this type of bag, what are the trade-offs (besides weight, obviously) between a 1-strap vs a 2-strap pack? Would I be just as well off to get a 1-strap for the simplicity and possible weight savings, or is a 2-strap traditional backpack more robust and a better all-around survival option, even for a lightweight GHB?
* Should I get a pack that can include full 100oz hydration, or for THIS type of pack, should I just keep it lighter/smaller, and stick with some water purification stuff?